Mushu is not a real name, clearly.  If Mushu was this Banana’s real name, it is quite possible a crush would not have ensued.

They say most crushes are born out of proximity and this certainly seems to hold true for work crushes: I was drawn to Mushu’s back, which was directly in front of me, but also his voice which was suave and switched easily between English and Spanish (work crushes can be cerebral too).

I spent many weeks quietly crushing, alternately talking myself out of the crush (“concentrate on your work, for fucks sake!”) and then back into it again (“he definitely has ganas), until one day I got fed up of myself.  I boldly asked my boss his name and then got straight onto the internal messaging system: “Hi. I like your moustache.”  He replied, “Thanks.” Then: “Who are you?”

HowToSurviveAnOfficeJob_Banana1

